Learning Yoga Philosophy: All About Koshas, Our “Veils of Illusion”

Koshas Feature — Yoga & Meditation

While you may well know rather a bit about subtle anatomy when it comes to subjects like chakras and prana, the koshas are equally critical to yogic anatomy but do not generally get the glory they deserve.

Want more facts on the chakra technique? Chakra 101: An Introduction to the 7 Chakras

Read on to understand all about these energetic veils of illusion and how to influence and transcend them.

What Are the Koshas?

The koshas are sheaths or veils of illusion that cloud us from seeing our accurate nature. They block and shield us from seeing our deepest selves, or Atman.

According to Vedantic philosophy, there are 5 koshas in the body that cover the Atman and stop us from recognizing and connecting with our truest nature and our Divine selves.

As we progress on our spiritual journey, we gradually begin to peel away these veils of illusion a single by a single, till we are in a position to more clearly see our deeper layers.

Each kosha represents a distinct layer of the body, either gross or subtle, and moves from the outermost layer inward toward the Atman.


These Are the 5 Koshas and What They Represent:

Yogic philosophy believes that the body is a vessel for the Atman and, eventually, for transcendence. And if we can peel away the blocking layers of illusion, we can see ourselves in our truest divine nature.

1. Annamaya Kosha

This 1st outermost layer is generally referred to as the “food body.” Annamaya Kosha represents all of our physical human requires like consuming and drinking to survive.

This kosha incorporates all elements of our physical bodies, and as a result, is topic to the laws of nature, such as mortality. Yogic philosophy encourages us to recognize that though we have a mortal body, it only exists to residence our immortal soul.

To influence Annamaya Kosha, we can consume or drink or move our physical bodies. To peel away this layer, we should comprehend our connection to our important requires but not recognize as these important requires.

2. Pranamaya Kosha

Moving slightly deeper into the body, Pranamaya Kosha is the 1st subtle layer. Often referred to as the “breath body,” this kosha comprises all of our subtle anatomy, such as prana.

Prana: Demystifying Life Force Energy

Prana is life-force power, and it hyperlinks the physical body to the subtle body so this kosha connects the two.

To influence Pranamaya Kosha, we can practice pranayama or meditate on our subtle anatomy. To peel away this layer, we should recognize that though essential air is important to our physical survival, it is not important to our immortal survival.

Chakra Reflections: Do This Practice to Balance and Heal Your 7 Chakras

3. Manomaya Kosha

Continuing additional into the subtle layers of the body, Manomaya Kosha is the “mental body.” This kosha incorporates our thoughts and feelings, as nicely as our 5 senses.

We expertise the globe by way of our senses, so we expertise the globe by way of the Manomaya Kosha.

To influence this kosha, we can practice Pratyahara (or total withdrawal of the senses), which aids us to peel away this layer and recognize that we are not what we see, hear, really feel, smell, and taste but we are that which experiences these senses.

Pratyahara Explained: The Fifth Limb of the Yoga Sutras and the First Step Toward Meditation

4. Vijnanamaya Kosha

Moving deeper into our subtle layers, Vijnanamaya Kosha is our “wisdom body.” This kosha offers us the capability to realize, cause, intellectualize, discern, and analyze.

This is exactly where we course of action all that our senses absorb.

To influence Vijnanamaya Kosha, we can study scriptures or study the inner workings of our personal minds by way of deep practices of meditation. Chanting mantra also aids us to recognize this layer of illusion as it calms our considering thoughts.

What Are Mantras and Why Do We Use Them In Yoga?

To peel away this layer, we should recognize that we are not our thoughts but that which observes thoughts.


5. Anandamaya Kosha

The deepest veil of illusion is Anandamaya Kosha, or our “bliss body.” This layer enables us to connect with pure joy and expertise smaller glimpses of the Divine.

This closest layer to our Atman is when we begin to tap into our immortal, Divine souls.

To influence Anandamaya Kosha, we can expertise Samadhi by way of deep meditation practices and catch glimpses of pure enlightenment.

To peel away this layer, we should expertise connection with the Divine and merge with the Divine to comprehend we have generally been a single and the very same.

Samadhi Explained: The Eighth Limb of the Yoga Sutras and the Gateway to Enlightenment

The Takeaway on the Koshas and Yoga Philosophy

As veils of illusion that block us from seeing our accurate nature, the koshas may well appear unfavorable. However, each and every layer of our getting is important for our human survival.

In order to attain enlightenment, we should use the physical types that we have been gifted in this life to be in a position to transcend.

If we can skillfully navigate by way of these layers and recognize them for what they are (illusions rather than reality), then we can simultaneously accept them and transcend them to merge with our highest selves, our Atman.

Originally published in www.yogiapproved.com